Regrets…I’ve had a few

The last couple of weeks have been spent contemplating and thinking about what the next post should share about this journey, so even though I haven’t been posting new content, I have been thinking of you, dear readers.

As long as I can remember, I’ve been determined that I had no interest in ever owning a house and that I would be just fine with moving around the rest of my life nomad-style. I married an artistic type, and he seemed agreeable to that and the only time that we really brought up owning a house was when we had the “If we win the lotto…” conversations.

Part of this is the fact that I grew up in a military household and the wanderlust that was instilled in my formative years took root – to date, I have moved 25 times. Yes, 25.

I can’t identify what has made me turn a corner on this issue, but in the last few weeks, I have  started watching HGTV (specifically My First Home and House Hunters) with my husband and we’ve started talking about what we would like in a house. The market in Los Angeles is truly a buyers market at this point (I think it has fallen at least 25% in the last year or so) and there are some amazing properties out there that are way more reasonably priced than they were 3 years ago.

Here’s the irony: with the $60K that we are going to pay off in this process, we could have had a great down-payment and be set up to actually afford house payments, especially in this market.

I had always felt the weight of this debt in other ways, but it has never been tied to the idea that we are going to miss out on getting a house in LA when they are more affordable. I’m not a person that has many true regrets – but this is going to be one of them.

I guess that we can take comfort in knowing that we’ve never been closer to freedom than we are right now. And every day we get closer.

Have any of your financial decisions caused you to have regret? How have you addressed this or changed the situation?

2 thoughts on “Regrets…I’ve had a few

  1. I had the exact same feeling. There’s a lot that I feel I miss out on because I’m repaying debt…some things I probably could take advantage of if I just put off paying things down, but I don’t want to fall face first down that slippery slope.

    We actually have been considering buying a house if we were able to pay off all of our credit cards. And only if our house payment would be the same as our rent (which it would actually be right now). We used to say after everything was paid, but for health reasons, I would be better in a more controlled environment than our apartment living can offer. I guess that’s some of the flexibility we’ve had to learn during our repayment process.

    http://www.moderntightwad.com/2009/03/true-cost-of-debt.html

What's your thought?

