It’s not you, it’s me

Thanks for those of you who have been stopping by – I’m so sorry that I haven’t been updating the last few months as much as I like to. Between school and work, I’ve been really overwhelmed, but that isn’t really acceptable, the way I see it – I promised to try and post at least 3 times/week, so let’s get back on the train.

So what has been going on?

This week was the paycheck with the furlough week taken out. Last year, along with lay-offs, my husband’s company instituted furlough for the employees instead of pay cuts. I completely support this, because when the eventually *do* have raises, I would like it to be based on his salary now, not his *discounted* salary. So, we spent the time between the announcement and now putting money away so that we wouldn’t feel this week so much with only 1/2 his salary. Look at that – we can learn… 🙂

Also, I sent my husband up to see his family during his furlough, so I spent some of the family leave money on that, too. This was important, because I think that it has been over 6 years since he was up there…that’s not good. I’m so hopeful that as our debt-free date gets closer and closer that we’ll be able to start to plan what to do with the extra money we’ll have (whoo-hoo!) and that some of that will entail more regular trips for him to go spend time with his family.

It looks like we’ll probably be able to pay off another credit card this month – my consulting check (which is late) is going to be bigger than expected and we received some money from my job to offset some of my tuition (it’s only about 15% of what I’m paying a year, but every bit counts, right?), so it looks like we are getting close to another success! I love those!

Well, I’ll save some of the updates for upcoming posts, but thanks for continuing to check in!

What's your thought?

