At what point is it failure?

I was working on finishing the balancing of the books for the month of July and I found that I was really unhappy with how things went during the month. I started to feel a small sense of panic and as I adjusted my spreadsheets that pushed our “debt-free” date further out, I started to become really sad.

I called my husband at work for a quick chat and let him know how I was feeling and that I really hate failing.

He set me straight.

According to him, failing is deciding to quit the race just because you tripped over a hurdle. Or two. Or more.

As he said, “we made choices that kept us from reducing as much debt as we wanted to for the month, but we didn’t miss any payments or make any additional charges, so that isn’t failure.”

I realize that I hold myself to this idea that if we don’t hit our goals on the timeline that I’ve set up that we are going to fail. Part of this is fueled by the fear that we could regress and go back to where we were before I started this blog: miserable, fearful, in a cycle that we can’t get out of.

I can’t live in that space.

For me, to live in that fear *is* to fail.

So I won’t.

4 thoughts on “At what point is it failure?

  1. I agree with your husband. We are kind of at the beginning of this process and its nasty and not fun. Its great to have goals to work for, but its huge to pay everything on time and not charge anything during the month. Look back and see how far you’ve come. Good job!

    • Hi Nicki!

      Thanks for your support and encouragement – and I’m sure my husband loves hearing that other people think he’s right, too 😉

What's your thought?

